If you have an existing team where you are a Team Owner, and you need to remove users from the team for any reason, you can remove Team Members or Team Guests with a few simple steps.
Within the sidebar, click the Teams icon.
Click the 3-dots on the team that you want to remove either a Team Member or Team Guest. Click "Edit Team".
In the Members section, hover over the user you want to remove. Upon hover, a trashcan icon will display. Click the trashcan icon and confirm the deletion by clicking "Save Settings".
Note: If you do not click "Save Settings", the user will not be removed from the team.
You're all done. The user has been removed from the team.
Resulting actions from a user being removed from an existing team
Once a user is removed from a team, the following automated actions will be triggered:
- The Team Members and Team Guests will receive a notification that they were removed from a team
- The Team Members and Team Guests will lose access to the projects that the team was assigned to.
- If the project was public, the Team Members will have Public Project Viewer permissions. Team Guests will no longer be able to access or search for the project.
- If the project was private, Team Members and Team Guests will no longer be able to access the project.
- All tasks assigned to Team Members and Team Guests will have a grey avatar, notifying the Project Owner that the tasks need to be reassigned.
Team Members or Team Guests need to regain access to projects
We strongly advise that you re-add the removed users back to the team. See add users to an existing team.
However, if this is not an option, and Team Members or team guests need access to the project(s) that the team was assigned to, simply have the Project Owner(s) re-add the Member or Guest to the project directly. Once re-added, the avatar will no longer be grey and the Member or Guest can manage their tasks.
User needs to be added back to the team
If the user was removed from the team in error, or the user needs to be re-added back to the team for whatever reason, see add users to an existing team.